Series Review: The Orville

The Orville – Series 1-3 (Streaming on Disney+ )

Space. The final frontier…and full of outlandish characters, aliens and humour.

The Orville is a series created by and staring Seth McFarlane following the adventures of the crew of The Orville on its exploration of the galaxy, sound familiar? Don’t worry, this is definitely a series that holds up on its own!

When I put the first episode on I’ll be honest, I wasn’t expecting much, I’m not the biggest Star Trek fan in the world however I was instantly surprised at the tone and feel of The Orville which kept me coming back as an unexpected fan.

Heavily influenced by the Star Trek universe this series has its own spin on the genre adding humour and light-heartedness to what seemed to me before, a serious gritty space (see what I did there?), having said that, it’s still able to navigate through complex issues such as race, identity, cultural diversity and sexuality, all while having the audience roaring with laughter.

I’ve found myself savouring the last few episodes, fearful that it’s going to leave a hole in my evenings once it’s finished! The dialog mixed with the fun action in this series is something to be admired, I’ve found recently that series tend to either be funny OR exciting with action scenes whereas this blends the two together beautifully.

A slight criticism is that on a few occasions there have been standalone episodes mixed into the middle of the series which are all great, however they can sometimes take you away from the overall series plot causing it to be a bit jarring once you’re having to remember the main storyline after being away from it for so long.

If you’re a fan of sci-fi and comedy, I highly recommend you giving this bingeable series a try, it wont disappoint!

Have you seen The Orville? What did you think about it?

Leave a comment